Utility ATVs Discussions on utility ATVs.

2000 Polaris sportsman 500 lost its balls...help!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2016, 03:43 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Polaris sportsman 500 lost its *****...help!!

Hello all.
I'm new to the atv connection because I am in desperate need of help/advice. A few weeks ago, I used my sportsman 500 to help pull a tree down in my back yard. Reverse override engaged, 4x4 and winch were used all at the same time, she ran like a dream, which is why I love my polaris. However, last weekend, I took my sportsman to the dunes and as soon as I went to give it full throttle, it's like a switch was flipped and I had NO power. It sputtered and coughed and I couldn't get it about 10 mph. I'm stumped. I threw a bunch of parts at it and still no improvement. New carb, new spark plug, new fuel filter, drained tank, new gas. It stays running on its own, but it sounds sick. This quad only has 700 miles on it. What am I missing? An over night change seems a bit odd? Any input would be much appreciated. I know there's a lot of knowledge here. Please help!!!

Old 06-12-2016, 04:08 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts