Where to Ride Share info on your favorite riding spot or ask others where to ride.

New to SoCal and looking for places to go.

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2006, 12:26 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to SoCal and looking for places to go.

OK guys.....you've got a Southern Boy transplant here in CA from VA by way of MS. I am new to the So Cal area and needless to say I'm not really sure of all the places to go riding out here yet. I have been looking at Octillo Wells, but honestly I am more used to more trail riding and a little mudding (every now and then). So I am asking all the So Cal people out there to give me some ideas preferably within an hour or so of LA. I appreciate the info in advance.....just tough when your new to the area and don't know anyone.--Rob

Old 02-16-2006, 12:14 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First off, what kind of machine do you ride???? Mostly this is more sport bike country, but a utility can be usefull in some places. I have two groups I ride with, one is pure desert sport bikes and the other is a utiltiy group (mostly guys who live in the mountains) who go out looking for terrifying terrain. (I am in the process of selling off my utilities, and switching to dirt bikes for mountain riding.)

Basically, you have the high desert (eg. Stoddard Wells, Johnson Valley, Dove Springs/Jawbone, Rasor Road), the low desert (eg. Ocotillo Wells, Superstition Mountain), the San Bernardino and San Gabrial Mountains, the dunes (eg. Glamis, Dumont, Pismo), and the Eastern Sierra (eg. Kennedy Meadows, Bishop/Mammoth) My favorite spot for trails is in the San Bernardino Mtns!

I have a buddy who lives in Chino Hills. I will have him PM you.

I'll find some links and post them.................

Old 02-16-2006, 12:34 PM
Red Rider

These links should give you a good start:

http://www.all-offroad.com/DirtBikes...ing_Areas.html

http://offroad.honda.com/novice/the_....aspx?state=CA