Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Raptor Question? Anyone have something similar happen?

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2003, 04:10 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raptor Question? Anyone have something similar happen?

I have 2001 Raptor. I have been riding for 15 years & I have never seen this. I was ripping in 5th the other day. When I let off, I went to go down to 4th & had nothing. Immediately I thought finally the trans went on this bike. I look down & there is oil coming out of the bike by the front sproket. I kill the motor & assess. I threw the front sproket. The safety clip & case saver held it on over the end of the spindel. The chain was still on. After a long tow home, I clean the bike & start to work on it. Remove the chain, sproket etc, and find no damage. After an hour or two of looking for a crack, checking the oil drain plug & every other possibility, I can't find a thing & no more oil leak. I check the oil level - about half low. I top off the oil, let it run. No leak, no change in the oil level. Reassemble and tighten the sproket down, check the oil after about 10 minutes of idle - all good. Take for several test rides, first slow & then check out the oil - no problem. Now I take it for a good rip - all the gears wide open. Come back - check the oil - no problem. Not a leak anywhere. Oil level all good. Where/How did the oil come pouring out from. My only guess is that the seal/gasket behind the spindle where the front sproket mounts up went, but how is it not leaking & OK now? And am I going to have a problem with this again. Any help from anyone who has seen or heard of this, or had it happen would be great. Thanks.

Old 07-24-2003, 05:10 PM
Extreme Pro Rider