Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Warrior Tires - All Trak's, Sur Trak's, or Spider Traks

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2003, 08:06 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Warrior Tires – (looking for opinions, preferably based on experience)

I know, here we go again, but hey I’m a newbie what can I say.

Sorry to bother everyone with yet another tire question, but I could use some advice to help me make a decision on which tires to get for my Warrior

After much research (well actually web surfing) I have narrowed my choices down to these, All Trak’s, Sur Trak’s, or Spider Tracks. I was planning on keeping the stock size or possibly going up a little for some extra ground clearance. I don’t know if there is any advantage to changing the stock front Dunlop’s (any opinions on this?), so I will probably keep them until they wear-out. This ATV is primarily used for casual trail riding, and the terrains I ride in consist mostly of sand, dirt and mud, with an occasional dose of red clay. While I did not get this machine for its prowess in mud, I do have to cross some sloppy mud holes at times.

I have noticed the All Trak’s, and Sure Trak’s appear to be manufactured by two different tire companies Cheng Shin, and Maxxis. The tires look identical and both have the same 2-ply rating, however the Cheng Shin’s are definitely cheaper. Does anyone know what the story is with this? Are there any quality/reliability concerns with the Cheng Shin tires?

Old 09-25-2003, 09:05 AM
Range Rover
Default Warrior Tires - All Trak's, Sur Trak's, or Spider Traks

I ride my Quadracer under similar conditions, and the Sur-Traks perform very well. They get good traction in the mud, but are still light enough to get sideways. My buddy has SpiderTraks on his Warrior and they seem to be heavy and affect the handling in a negative way. They are very good in mud though.

Old 09-25-2003, 09:40 AM
Pro Rider