Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

What to buy Kodiak, Warrior or?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2000, 01:07 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to the ATV world and need some help. I'm like everyone else, I want the ATV that is best at everything. I'm also living in the real world and realize that is probably not possible. The more I learn the harder the decision gets. Most of the dealers don't seem to know what they are talking about so your input is greatly appreciated.

Here is what I do know. I live in Phoenix so realistically I will probably be riding in open desert and trails up North. I don't know if I will be doing much mud bogging or stream wading, but you never know. I really don't need a utility vehicle and I don't want full time 4wd. My wife likes the Kodiak 4x4 and after reading about it is seems like a pretty good all round ATV. I was originally looking at the Warrior but am know leaning towards the Kodiak myself. Will I be happy with Kodiaks or should I be looking at something else?

Old 06-20-2000, 10:35 AM
Pro Rider

well here's my take on it. I was convinced that I wanted to get rid of my warrior. No one but me likes to ride it, so when we hit the mud and hills, the hondas are a boat load of fun and a lot of the time the Yama sits there. Well last weekend we went to a new place that had all kinds of terrain. I road the rancher, recon and warrior several times each. I'm keeping the warrior. They are so much fun to ride. If it weren't for the low ground clearance on the skid plate, it will climb just about anything. And when you get to the top of what ever you just climb, you just fly out of the jump without worrying. Then you go out and haul butt on a track if you like. Its not the fastest or the best but it is good. It's so much fun and hi-erformance(compared to the yewt's) that I can't stand to part with it. If you wife has a Yewt get a Warrior then you can have both.

Old 06-20-2000, 03:43 PM
Range Rover