Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Wolverine Problems

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2003, 11:12 AM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wolverine Problems

I recently purchased a used 98 Wolvy. Before I got it, it sat for 2 years with nothing being done to it. I had the carb rebuilt, and changed the plug, oil, filter, battery and cleaned the tank and petcock. Now it runs great, but there are a couple of other problems. First, the right rear wheel is kinda loose, it feels like worn wheel bearings. My question is, are they hard to repair? Any suggestions? Also, when I make a turn, the front end makes a "Clunking" sound. CV joints? Please help me out, I am new to this. Any help will be appreciated!

Old 11-23-2003, 11:45 AM
Pro Rider

Sounds to me like you are on the right track. Both maintenence issues that someone didn't deal with properly... fix em up and you are good to go! - Wheel bearings, I think, are only a 2 hour project or so. I'm not sure about the CV joints...

Old 11-23-2003, 12:47 PM
Pro Rider

The rear wheel bearings aren't that hard to fix... The cv joints are a little tougher... You my want to check your front u-joints..,I have replaced mine on my 98 and never the cv axles... Let us know how it goes! If ya got any more troubles let us know... Most of these guys on here are helpful...Oh by the why welcome. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 11-23-2003, 03:14 PM
Pro Rider

Sounds like something the Buckeyes had yesterday.

Old 11-23-2003, 03:27 PM
Pro Rider

AKA 'trouble' ?

Old 11-23-2003, 04:09 PM
Trailblazer

Thanks for the input everyone. I started working on the rear wheel bearings today, and I need someone to describe the process in detail. Does the rear differential have to come off? If so, how do you remove the studs where the diff bolts to the swing arm? How do you get the axle out to remove the bearings? Does it need to come out? HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

Old 11-23-2003, 04:42 PM
Pro Rider