Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Product Review

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2000, 04:18 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Y2K Yamaha GrizZ
Warn Yamaha winch
Well i wanted a winch and all the dealer had in stock was the Yamaha branded one. So i lubed up and put out the extra cash. I figured "well at least i will get good instructions on the instalation". The winch mount was great very detailed instructions on what to do even came with spacers if needed. It all bolted up as stated. At this point im thinking COOL just need to run the wires and im all done. NOOOOOOOTTTTTT when it comes to the wireing they just tell you what the wires hook to on the winch, silanoid and switch. Not a single mention of where you might mount them or how to run the wires. You even needed a test light to find a hot wire when the key is on. Now first off let me tell you im a mechanic by trade so im no idiot BUT what a pain in the A** . Yes i got the wires run fine yes it works great and yes i could have saved $200.00 by getting a winch without a yamaha sticker on it. So what im trying to say is that if you have a choice dont get the yamaha labled one because their is no benefit (besides a cool yamaha sticker on the winch). I also got the Warn winch accesory kit list was like 130.00 i payed 75.00 got a snach block, tow rope, little loop thingy, and a tote bag. Probubly could buy them all anywhere else for about 50.00 So the moral of the story is DONT pay for a factory name on an aftermarket accesory unless you have to and if it is a winch what you save on a warn brand will pay for a Yamaha tech instalation. Dont get me wrong im happy with my purchase but it is not what i expected.

Old 06-20-2000, 10:01 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Why DID you buy the "designer" winch, Yama?

Did you ask the dealer for technical advice on where the wires went?