Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

blaster sputtering dying and backfiring when warm.

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2004, 03:44 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default blaster sputtering dying and backfiring when warm.

Hey guys. Im new to the Quad world. You can research my past threads to see how that happened. When i got my quad running, it ran great till yesterday. I obviously didnt tighten the flywheel tight enough, and it came loose on me and died when i was a mile or so from the house. It ended up shearing the key. I replaced the key this morning, and the bike started right up and ran great. But, as soon as it got warm after 2-3 minutes of riding, it started sputtering, not idleing, and dying if i didnt keep it revved up (it was similar to a car when the carb loads up and you have to rev it to get it cleaned out). When the bike dies, it backfires right afterwards. I cannot get it started back up unless i hold it at WOT when i kick it, and when it starts, it sputters its way up in the RPM range till it finally clears up. As soon as i let the revs get lower again, it tries to die. Throttle response is poor at the low RPM range, but power is there when the revs are up. I snapped a pic of the plug so you all can diagnose it for me. Plug Pic

Let me know what you think.

Old 06-05-2004, 06:18 PM
Weekend Warrior

I tore everything apart behind the flywheel, put it all back together and went for another ride. I rode around the yard for several minutes, and it did fine. Went back into a trail a little ways, it did fine. Went a little farther.....it started its bullcrap again. Almost like its out of gas. Got it started a few times and made it almost all the way back to the house, but had to push it the last 50 yds.

I got back to the house and read in the manual that the tank CAN be overfilled? Is this true? I just filled it up yesterday (i run 40:1 yamalube and premium gas). I will try draining some out of the tank to see what happens.