Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

new to the forum

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2004, 02:55 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to the forum

i just wanted to say hey to everyone on here...i just got a new raptor and i had a couple of questions quick...one is with the jetting on it, would i be able to do it myself?...i've never done one before but i'm mechanically inclined for the most part and i was wondering how hard it is to do...also i just bought the gytr exhaust and it's not in yet but i don't think it comes with the head pipe...it was 300 from yamaha...but i see on here some people have the head pipe from yamaha...it's not listed on the site and my dealer didn't know about it so where would i be able to get one?...thanks for the help i'm sure i'll recieve and hey to all

Old 11-23-2004, 04:19 PM
Pro Rider
Default new to the forum

WELCOME TO THE FORMS!!! and as far as jetting goes yea i would say you can do that with out much of a hassle and the head pipe im not sure on ill look for ya and let you know if i run across it .

Old 11-23-2004, 04:45 PM
Shed Knocker Rider
Harley Punk!
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default new to the forum

Jetting isn't to bad on single carb engine's. It is a good thing to learn how to do it right. After you put the pipe on, put a jet a few sizes bigger than stock in it and see what it does. Check the spark plug after you ride it, usually if it is real black and has soot on it, then it is to rich, go down on the jet size. If it is real white looking, then it is lean and that can be very bad, so you need to go up on the jet size. When the plug starts looking like a tanish color then you got it running pretty good.

P.S. You should only have to change the main jet with a pipe, the pilots should be fine.

And welcome to the Forums!

Old 11-23-2004, 04:49 PM
Super Quad Patrol
Athens Archery Field Staff
Best lunch hour ever!
Default new to the forum