Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

raptor wheelies

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2005, 03:05 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default raptor wheelies

so many people say that a raptor can do wheelies in 3rd gear. Is this because they pop the clutch or pull back hard because my raptor doesn't do a wheelies just by punching the gas. I was wondering if they hype up the power too much or if there needs to be some adjustment on mine. Thanks for all the responses and information in advance.

Old 07-07-2005, 03:25 AM
Pro Rider
Default raptor wheelies

I'm not a wheelie expert or pro, though with stock gearing I can wheelie in 4th fairly easy, with 13/42 I can be nearly WOT in 5th.

Old 07-07-2005, 03:43 AM
Range Rover
Default raptor wheelies

When mine was stock, it didn't take much to get the front end up. I could cruise around 1/4 throttle, then punch and give it a little jerk and I was staring at the sky. Now that I have my LRD system on, it seems a bit harder, but I think that is because the power has moved in the RPM range and I just need to get used to it. It still doesn't take much to get that fron end up though. I mostly ride dunes and have a set of 8 paddle Hauler extremes on, but the other day I was cruising around on some back roads by my dad's place and I had no problem lifting it up in fourth gear. It just takes practice and a little body english. You should have no problem wheeling.

-Brandon

Old 07-07-2005, 04:01 AM
Pro Rider
Default raptor wheelies

Getting the front end to come up on a quad is not about popping the clutch, or "jerking". Its not so much a jerk as it is making the rear of the quad squat. I rarely pulled on the handlebars, but instead, colapse your knees and press down with your legs, butt and back all at the same time. I could get the front to come up in 5th on my Raptor and 400ex, even in stock form, all without popping the clutch. Its all about finess, and not power. Try it.

Old 07-07-2005, 12:51 PM
Range Rover