Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2 stroke philosophy???

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2007, 02:27 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 stroke philosophy???

Im a newb when it comes to 2 strokes and atv'ing for that matter. I want to know if i can rev my motor to the max without hurting it assuming its broken in properly and the gas is premixed correctly and everything else is assumably ok. I know they blow top ends but is this caused by too much redlining, and if it is then what the *****, i thought thats where they make the power. So there best part is their downfall as well, wtf is the deal. I just dont want to pay for a top end again, at least not for a while. how many hours are we talking here, sorry for being long winded

Old 06-01-2007, 09:30 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

2 smokers are soooooo 80's-90's

get a thumper man...

every 20 or so hours of racing,you need to change the top end on a smoker anyway,no way around that..2 smokers are maintence and money pits..

2 smoker quads??what a horrible idea..look at moto-x and super-x,they all well 90% use thumpers now..

changeing top ends on 2 smoker bikes sucked,cant imagine what a top end quad change is like ewww...

Old 06-01-2007, 10:05 AM
Pro Rider

Try comparing the price of rebuilding a 450 or a 250r. Costs 3 times as much to rebuild a 4 stroke. The only reason everybody is using 4 strokes is because they outlawed 2 strokes in racing. If you cant beet em, outlaw them. I mean come on, my 250 puts out every bit as much power as a 450 and as long as you take care of them they are just as reliable. My 250 is 21yrs. old. Its been rebuilt 4 times on the topend and 1 time on the bottom. 21 yrs. of technology in the 4 strokes since my 250 was built and all I can say is, COME GET U SOME.

Old 06-01-2007, 12:51 PM
Trailblazer

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: Fulltiltrider