Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

686 or 720

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2007, 07:17 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 686 or 720

Is their a big difference between the 686 and 720cc raptors? i just got a wiseco 11-1 102mm piston off of ebay brand new for $70. would you guys go with a hotrods stock stroke crank or a barker 4 mil that i can use this piston on? and my other plans are the stage 3 hot cams and springs. is there a better cam out there? i am sure megacycle are better but the hot cam is only $120 with no core. would i be happier with the 686 or 720 builld?

thanks
justin

Old 12-26-2007, 02:04 PM
Trailblazer
Default 686 or 720

I was in the same boat as you........686 with a stage two OR a stroker kit with a stage 3. I chose the 686 with the stage 2 because I have heard there are reliablilty issues with the stroker kit. I don't know how true that is but that's what I've been told. I'm not an expert but I would think even though the stroker kit gives you mores cc's and more drag power I would think that the engine would rev slower due to the longer stroke and extra weight of the longer rod.

Trust me, unless you are making a drag bike the 686, stage 2, throw in a port job and you will have all the power you could ever want from this bike. I did use the JE 12:1 comp piston however instead of the Wiseco 11:1. If all you want to do is drag Sand Mountain, then go with the stroker kit.

Just my 2 cents.

Old 12-28-2007, 08:12 PM
Elite Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 686 or 720

No significant reliability problems with the 720 that I know of.

Only reason to do a 686 instead of a 720 is if you can't afford it.

Old 12-28-2007, 10:57 PM
Trailblazer
Default 686 or 720

I'ver heard it's harder to keep the 720 cool. More cc's means more fuel burning with the same amount of cooling resources. More heat makes the motor wear faster, warp heads, valves wear faster, blown head gaskets, and the good stuff that comes with heat