Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

2001 Yamaha Blaster Problems - Electrical... i think

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2008, 07:40 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Yamaha Blaster Problems - Electrical... i think

Hey everyone, I bought a 2001 yamaha blaster off someone on craigslist a year or two ago and it ran on and off for a while... but recently it hasn't been running at all. It wont start. I try kicking it a lot and it backfires every 25 kicks or so. Ive been trying to work on it for a while now and did so with no success. I'm not very good with ATV's but im trying to learn. I'll give you some pics of the electrical in the front and such. The guy i bought it from said he bypassed the oil injection and ignition, it looks pretty jury rigged IMO but maybe thats normal... kind of. Well it'd be really appreachiated if someone with some knowlege about this stuff could help me... thanks a lot, ill be checking back often to see if any of you have questions about it.

http://i70.photobucket.com/alb...2/iMaciMan/front1.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/alb...2/iMaciMan/front3.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/alb...MaciMan/carbleft2.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/alb...iMaciMan/carbleft.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/alb...MaciMan/carbright.jpg

thanks a lot

Old 04-26-2008, 07:50 PM
Pro Rider

Pull your spark plug out and put the spark plug wire back on the top of the plug.press the bottom of the plug against something metal on the motor or frame.Kick the motor over and see if you are getting a spark.If no spark then you need a new plug or it is something electrical.

Old 04-26-2008, 07:52 PM
Weekend Warrior

i tried it before, it sparks.... anything else i should try?

Old 04-26-2008, 08:09 PM
Pro Rider

Take spark plug out.Put about 4 or 5 drops of gas down the spark plug hole.put plug back in and see if it will try to start.Put mixed gas if you can.Meaning gas and 2-stroke oil.

Old 04-26-2008, 09:05 PM
Weekend Warrior