Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

08 Grizzly Skids

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 11:12 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08 Grizzly Skids

I am having some trouble finding skids for my 08 Grizzly. I have seen prices anywhere from $250 to $550. I am fairly new to ATVing (At least having to maintain my own) and need assistance. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 08-11-2008, 02:55 PM
Pro Rider
Default 08 Grizzly Skids

Hey Vinnie,

First off welcome to the Site! There is a bunch of good info on this site for your Quad. I personally own the same machine.. well except mine is a 2007.

As far as skids go... I would recommend the Ricochet Offroad Armor.

Link to Website with Ricochet Skids for Grizzly/Kodiak 450

They are made with 3/16" (0.1875") 5052 Aliminum. Yamaha Aluminum skids for the Grizzly 450 are only 1/8" (0.125") 5052. (I know as I bought the Front A-Arms, Belly (Engine), and Rear Diff Skids.

I personally have made CSS (CraZy Steve Skids) Front CV boot extentions (added to the Yamaha Front A-Arm Skids), a Front Diff Bash Plate (made out of 1/4" (0.250") 5052), and Footwell Skids (made out of 3/16" (0.1875") 5052). I am in the process of making Rear A-Arm skids out of 3/16" (0.1875") 5052

See my "Camera" Link for pictures! (Located to the right of this message window under my Name and picture of my Quad)

As far as maintaining your Quad...

Here is the link w/instructions on how to Download a copy of the 03-06 Kodiak 450 Manual. The only diff between your machine and the 03-06's is the Name, Tires, 2" Reciever Hitch and the Rear Wet-Brake -- otherwise... everything else is the same [img]i/expressions/beer.gif[/img]

http://www.savefile.com/files/74511

1. Click the link in the Message
2. Scroll down to the Section in the BLUE Box that says "05-06 Kodiak 450" and Click "DOWNLOAD FILE"
3. Your download SHOULD start...

IF NOT

4. Scroll down to the Bottom.... where you will see