Old 09-07-2008, 10:27 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 stroke or 4 stroke

Hey guys im new to ATV's
and im looking into buying one..
so basically im stuck between

Blaster 200 or a raptor ____
i really like 2 strokes because they sounds cool there quick on accelerating and there badass
i dont really like 4 strokes because they sound dumb and i doesnt feel like there fast

ill be mostly mudding and riding the dunes

so 200 blaster 2 stroke or
Rpater ____ 4 stroke
i think im gonna go with the blaster cause there cheaper and i dont got much money

Old 09-08-2008, 12:33 AM
Pro Rider
I ride, because football, basketball, and baseball only uses one ball!

2 strokes are out, 4 strokes are in. 2 strokes do have more power with the same size engine than a 4 stroke, but 4 strokes usually require less maintenance. But if cared for properly, a 2 stroke can last a long time (mix oil/fuel correctly, make sure jetting is correct, don't hold it wide open for long periods of time).

I used to be a 2 stroke guy and never thought I would own a 4 stroke, but after the newer 4 stroke technology, I made the switch a few years back and let me tell you, I don't think I will ever own another 2 stroke. Even my weedeater is a 4 stroke now!

With all that said, a Blaster is still not a bad choice for a bike to start out with. The'03-up models are more desirable for their disk brakes, and it would not be wise to spend over $1500 on buying a Blaster.

Old 09-08-2008, 02:24 AM
Pro Rider