Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

I'm new to this

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 04:18 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm new to this

So I have rode on the back of quads a million times, but I'm not any where close to being 4wheeler saavy. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-blush.gif[/img] My husband just bought a 04 Yamaha 660 for himself and yesterday picked up a 350 for me. Although he picks up everything he does quickly and knows way more than I do, we're both pretty much beginners. ANy tips or advice for me when learning how to ride? Any suggestions on what gear I need or should get?

Old 12-10-2008, 04:36 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I'm new to this

Take an atv safety course. They are offered locally most anywhere and are inexpensive. Buy a helmet for sure. You can never really be too safe, so go to your local motorcycle shop and buy all the safety attire you can afford. In my opinion, a helmet and tall boots are the most important. Glad to see more people getting into the sport. I hope you enjoy it as much as we all do on this forum! And welcome to the forum!

Old 12-10-2008, 05:24 PM
Shapeshifter Rider
Default I'm new to this

Don't sit on that thing without a helmet!!!!You have been warned!!But anyway enjoy your machine and if you need anything else about quads this is the best place to ask.

Old 12-10-2008, 05:40 PM
Pro Rider
Default I'm new to this

Definitely take the Atv safety course. You'll learn everything there from properly mounting the machine to hopping over log obstacles.

Old 12-10-2008, 06:15 PM
Weekend Warrior
Default I'm new to this

I picked up a helmet last night...I am no daredevil I'd never get on it w/out one! I'll definitely look into a safety course. Thanks!

Old 12-10-2008, 07:56 PM
Pro Rider
Default I'm new to this