Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

yamaha moto electrical

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2009, 11:38 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default yamaha moto electrical

[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img] I am new to atvs. I just bought an 89 250 moto 4. It was running when I bought it,and rode it once since it has been home. Went to ride again and it wouldn't start. I checked fuel and had plenty.Ichecked for spark, and had none. So I took the handlebars off,removed the plastics on the front and examined everything. I taped worn wires, pulled the coil and tested the resistance between ground and hot at the spark plug end. Had 6560 ohms of resitance(another post on another site said it should be 10-11K). I cleaned the terminals at the ground on the coil, put it back together, and got spark for two pulls, then nothing. What do I do next? Please help!

Old 09-06-2009, 09:05 AM
Weekend Warrior

Same problem here... so I am bumping this thread too. Looking for advice, but the problem is the weather.... IT IS NICE out so only us suckers with broken machines are at the computer!!

Leroy

Old 09-06-2009, 09:21 PM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by mcdonl
Same problem here... so I am bumping this thread too. Looking for advice, but the problem is the weather.... IT IS NICE out so only us suckers with broken machines are at the computer!!

Leroy
Leroy,.... Have you tried push starting yet?

When my Moto-4 wouldn't start with the starter, I could push it about 3 feet with a rider on it, and it would start every time. Did the same stuff you've been doing (reading all the bumps and such) and even adjusted the valves and cleaned the carb, and all the other stuff. The only thing that would start it was a Push. Me,... no truck,... no other 4 wheeler,... just a fat bald guy sticking my foot in the dirt and pushing with my hands.