Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Atv Winches

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2009, 04:01 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Atv Winches

Hi
I'm new to the sport of ATV's. Just resently purchased A Yamaha 550 Grizzly and a 250 Raptor. Knowing that I'll have to pull the Raptor out of the mud someday, And probably myself. I'm looking at getting a winch. Without braking the bank, any suggestions, on which to look at and which to avoid.

Thanks,
Tim

Old 08-20-2009, 06:59 AM
Of all the things I've lost in life, I think I miss my mind the most!

Hey there and welcome. If your on a budget it's going to a bit tougher to find a qaulity winch out but they are out there. Somtimes you can find a company with winches that are made by the big name companys with a off brand name /but buyer beware. Look for sealed motor housing, steel or aluminum housing, (I prefer steel) hp. of the motor, gear ratio, etc. I personally found a winch called trakker that looks identical to the warn in every aspect, very strong and has yet to let me down. (at a rural king for less than $200) I've also heard the vipers and gorrilla's are decent but I've never had personal experience with them. Bottom line is you'll usally get what you pay for, so do your home work if your going to buy somthing that's not name brand. Oh yah, I'd look for a 2500lb. or larger, especially on an off brand.

Old 08-20-2009, 07:09 AM
Weekend Warrior

Northern Tools sells a Superwinch @ 1700 lbs for $225.00, I bought one and used it without any problems. I pulled a Rancher 350 out of some deep mud!

Old 08-20-2009, 07:25 AM
Supersock
Hired Gun!
"Badges? We don't need no stinkin' badges!"
Received 168 Likes on 167 Posts

If there's a craigslist in your area, check it out.

I had an unused Mile Marker 2500lb winch that was just collecting dust. Sold it for 120 bucks.

Also be sure to get a decent mount for the winch. It's only gonna pull out what it can hang on to.

Old 08-20-2009, 07:12 PM