Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

YFZ450R Power

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2010, 10:42 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default YFZ450R Power

Hello, I am a new member and a new atv rider...I have 10 years experience on street bikes but have moved to Portland OR and the seasons up here are so short maybe 4 months so I bought a 2009 YFZ450R Special Edition.

My questions are because I do not know how sensitive atv engines are but I just brought my bike into my mechanic for a GYTR air filter, NEW Yosh RS2 Titanium Full Exhaust, Power Commander 5, red anodized braided steel break lines, Black rear sproket Red anodized chain and dropped the front sprocket down a tooth to 13 teeth and a bunch more custom work..I will send pics when it is done.

But this last summer I rode it at the dunes almost every weekend fully stock...with these few upgrades should I notice a significant increase in power and tork especially with the front sprocket being dropped down a tooth?

Thanks for everyones time and responses

Old 02-24-2010, 11:16 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Mopar Man!

Welcome! I am willing to bet you quite a bit of a power difference with that setup! Good luck let us know how it works.

Old 02-25-2010, 12:39 AM
The Facility

The gearing change alone should make that bike scream coming off the bottom and will absorb some of that power loss from the sand as well.
What you have packaged up there sounds to me like a good combo for the riding you are doing.

Old 02-25-2010, 07:11 AM
Pro Rider
Is addicted to 4 wheel'n!

Oh, man will you tell a difference.

Old 02-25-2010, 12:34 PM
Weekend Warrior