Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Nika-seal cylinders

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 07:06 PM
Pro Rider
I ride, because football, basketball, and baseball only uses one ball!
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nika-seal cylinders

Anybody know what year ATV manufacturers (including dirt bikes) started nickel plating cylinders and why? I was looking into buying an old dirtbike (like early '90's YZ250) but really don't want one with these plated cylinders. I have no experience with the plated cylinders but my riding buddies have had nothing but problems with them ('09 Polaris RZR S and '06 RM125).

Old 02-05-2012, 08:07 PM
Pro Rider
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

I think 1989 is the year started....But can bore out and replaced with and standard steel sleeve.....I have done this serveral times....They claims that nikel-seal cools better....

Old 02-06-2012, 09:51 PM
Pro Rider

Thanks, would I need to replace the whole sleeve or just bore out the nickled sleeve and get rid of existing coating?

Old 02-07-2012, 06:02 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Whole LOT less friction on the Nikasil cylinders and wears so much better than cast iron! Almost all Mfg's are using plated cylinders now along with a lot of auto makers such as Porsche.Will outlast several pistons and replating isn't that expensive! OPT

Old 02-07-2012, 08:33 PM
Pro Rider

Is it actually a nickel coating? And how much does it cost and where's a good place to have it done? I have heard it costs upwards of $250 and the nearest place on the east coast is in PA, but that was from unreliable sources.

Old 02-07-2012, 09:09 PM
Pro Rider

Originally Posted by Raptor450
Is it actually a nickel coating? And how much does it cost and where's a good place to have it done? I have heard it costs upwards of $250 and the nearest place on the east coast is in PA, but that was from unreliable sources.