Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Remove air box, not just the lid?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2012 | 11:22 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Remove air box, not just the lid?

I got a 03 warrior that needs to be overhauled. Im cleaning the carb as I type and i have taken all the plastic off to get painted. I've searched this subject and all I find is people removing the lids. I did see a vid on youtube where a guy had aftermarket mesh lid replacement, but he said they don't sale that anymore...not a big deal.
What if I just to remove the box it self and run the carb to a pod filter like a old school cafe racer. Could I do that, and has anybody done that before?
Whats the best size header and exhaust. Forgive me Im new to this

Like on my virago lots of people have stock or 2" headers going to two outlets 2:2, but the best performance exhaust for a virago is stock size header, 1.5" 2:1.

If you can't tell the virago is all been working on.

Thanks...Collin

Old 12-02-2012 | 08:22 AM
Pro Rider
I ride, because football, basketball, and baseball only uses one ball!

You could remove the airbox, I don't know any company that makes a kit for a Warrior. The problem with a trail machine without an airbox is you will have to be more careful crossing creeks and splashing through water holes.

The factory header is perfect for the Warrior engine, stock or modded. It is oversized so it works great on a modded engine. You could save some money and just buy a slip-on exhaust. I like the look, power, and price of the HMF sport series for the Warrior. According to a test that Dirtwheels magazine did, the White Bros E-series made the most power but I don't like the way they look or sound.

Old 12-02-2012 | 11:39 AM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!