Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Thoughts on the FX400

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2001, 07:01 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Well, after a year's wait the FX400 is finally out. Seems OK, but I have a couple objections. First, the nose job is worse than Michael Jackson's! I can't believe that is all the better looking plastic they could come up with. Secondly, after reading some reviews on their dirtbikes, I hope this isn't plagued by the same things (odd fasteners, no service parts, overly hi-tech gizmos). I'm still getting a Raptor.

Old 03-29-2001, 07:47 PM
Pro Rider

I hate to knock a new machine that I have had no experience with. Remember when the 400ex and the Raptor were announced? Some people were going wild, while others were overly sceptical. But when it all boiled back down to a simmer both quads were about what you would expect. I dont think any new 4-stroke quad is gonna blow you away with power. The only thing I may get excited about is a Honda 500R or any new 2-stroke over 400cc. Im sure that the Cannondale will be a good handler since it has good deminsions. The engine will run about how you would expect a decent 440cc 4-stroke to run. Just look at the numbers. A quad is not a magical piece of machinery. It is going to perform the way its numbers suggest. One thing you cant forsee is Aftermarket support, Fuel Injection capabilities, and most importiantly, reliability. I have heard that Cannondale Bikes are junk, but they may make a quality quad. You would think that Polars could build a decent quad since they make Quality Snowmobiles, but it didnt turn out that way.

Old 03-29-2001, 09:25 PM
Pro Rider