Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

!!HELP!! ASAP JUST REBUILT RAPTOR PROBLEM

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2001, 03:08 PM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ok, i just got my engine back together, i cranked it and let it run for a while, and whenever i hit the gas it pops, with a lil black smoke and sometimes a lil fire. the only thing different than what it was is we did some minor porting and had a 5 angle valve job done.
now, would this affect the jetting in neway? im also thinkin that i might have the timing off or something, because i have a sparks 6 degree advance timing key on it and its kinda hard to time it just right when ur tryin to put it together. any kind of help is greeatly appreciated, and i need to know As Soon As Possible!

THANX

Old 07-01-2001, 04:23 PM
Pro Rider

As far as I know, any time you change to airflow or ignition of any motor, you must rejet. I would take out that key, jet it, then when everything is broken in, put the key back on, and check the jetting.
I don't know about a raptor, but that should work for most any other motor.

Old 07-01-2001, 04:43 PM
Pro Rider

DIRT,
IS IT JUST ME OR IS YOU WEBSITE MESSED UP? I OPENED IT UP AND IT JUST KEPT FLASHING!

Old 07-01-2001, 05:16 PM
Pro Rider

OH ****!!! I have been doing some work on it lately. Homestead told me that the free version of their sites will be limited to 3 pages, so I did some remodeling. I plan on building a new site with tripod or geocites. And to think, I have almost 1200 views on the counter. Putting my site in my sig really helped.

Old 07-01-2001, 05:21 PM
Pro Rider

Alright I fixed my sig. I'm deleting my homestead account and starting over with geocites or something. I needed to change it anyhow since I've changed so much on my quad, I might as well have a new site.

If anyone knows a good place to build a site, private message me asap.

Thanks for the heads up NorthernEdge.

Old 07-01-2001, 06:30 PM
Pro Rider