Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Big Wheel/Lift Kits

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-1999, 01:01 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am new to the ATV community and have a question. I own a 99 Grizz, live in Alaska and do some serious off roading (Thick Tundra, Muskag, and Rock climbing) for hunting purposes. I have heard that a big wheel kit will improve traction and will be able to pull me out of some hairy situations, that I often get myself into. Also What are the pro's and con's of a lift kit, besides increased ground clearance? I have heard that it can cause undue wear on your bearings. Do I need a lift kit to fully benifit from a big wheel kit?
By the way my Grizz has never been stuck yet. Awsome Machine!

Thanks All!
Ranger

Old 09-07-1999, 06:20 PM
Trailblazer

i have a 99 grizzly with 26-12-12 and a highlifter lift kit its awsome except thers not alot of clearance for the 26-12-12 in the front wheel well when turning in full radius it hits floor board highlifter said to get spacers or thiner front tire or cut floor board well since i have 600 in tires and 200 in lift kit i dont want to spend 150 for spacers so im cutting floor board back 1.5 inches to acomadate for turning radius

Mike bencivengo

------------------
99 Grizzly , Vamped & Liffed

Ride safe today,because to ride again tomorrow is Righteous!!!!

Old 09-07-1999, 06:53 PM
Weekend Warrior

A complete lift kit may not be required.

I only installed 26x12x12 tires and it inreased my clearance by a true 3"! I recommend measuring your current clearance on a smooth, level surface (garage floor works great) with your stock options, then put on the tires/rims you want and re-measure in the same spot.