Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Grizzly lacking power

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-1999, 12:25 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recently got back from a day of hard riding. The weather was hot and we were going through mud and climbing hills. On three occations, I was climbing up a steep mud bank in 4WD. My Griz all of a suddent started to sputter and the engine started to cut off. I ended up going to a flat surface and opening the throttle up and blew some smoke out of my exhaust. I am not sure what caused this problem or if it is a problem. Could it be that all I did was get water in my intake??? I am still learning so any information is greatly appriciated.

Shoot Straight,
Ranger

Old 09-15-1999, 04:25 PM
Pro Rider

Check for overheating. Sounds as if it may be trying to vapor lock. Have a friend who has a griz which did a similar thing when it got hot. Turned out the cooling fan was not working. His warranty replaced it and he had no further trouble.

------------------
Kevin Gowdy aka Kagey 1999 Polaris Magnum 500

Old 09-15-1999, 05:51 PM
Weekend Warrior

Thanks! I'll have it checked out

Ranger

Old 09-16-1999, 09:11 AM
Weekend Warrior