Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

ultimate 2wd mud machine

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2000 | 10:40 PM
|
Weekend Warrior

this is my first time posting so take it easy on me. i have a 2000 big bear 400. i bought a 4x2 because i hadn't planned on too much mud riding. recently though, i have been riding at a friends farm in some pretty muddy conditions. the man who owns the 2500 acre farm is very wealthy and owns 8 honda 4x4s of different sizes. i havent had a whole lot of trouble in the mud yet but i know a big hole will get me soon. i have actually gotten through a creek that stuck a 300 4x4 the same day. if i hit the mud with momentum i can usually make it through in 2nd or 3rd gear with some pretty high rpms.
the owners of the farm have been impressed with mine and my dads quads (prarie 300 4x2) so far, but i want my big bear to be better.
i was thinking of replacing the tires with blackwater 26x8x12 fronts and 26x12x12 rears. does my big bear have the power to turn the bigger tires without a noticeable loss in power. or should i stick to the stock size. if it has the power to turn them, then it should actually increase my top speed, correct? also will the 26's fit without rubbing.
i also am planning on getting a winch, so i figure this will get me out when the rpms and blackwaters won't.
i'm just trying to make the bear the best i can in the mud and keep its normal manners on hard packed trails. any other suggestions would be of great interest.

p.s. dont tell me to get a 4x4, im sticking with what ive got. until i save the money for the Grizzly at least.

Old 03-07-2000 | 09:35 AM
Weekend Warrior

Hey ive got the same thing bigbear 400 2wd... and ive gotten stuck 4-5 times,lol...but tht doesnt matter to me...im also thinkin of getttin a winch since i dont have 4+4 also...

Old 03-07-2000 | 10:13 AM
Pro Rider