Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Raptor Toe-In Question?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2002, 01:04 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I need some input from all my fellow Raptor owners. I noticed while riding that the steering on my Raptor felt a little twitchy. But since I am new to the Raptor and fresh off a Prairie 650 I just figured that it was because the steering was so much lighter than what I was use to. Anyway, while giving my Raptor a tune and service, along with a good once over I noticed that it looked like my front tires were leaning in just a little. I looked in the owner's manual and it suggests checking the toe-in in the routine maintenance. I put a framing square up against the inside of my front tire to compare them and this is what I found. The right front seams to be perfectly vertical according to the square, (straight up and down, no tilt or toe-in) but the left front is tilted in about 3/8 of an inch. I assume that this is what is causing the "twitchy" steering, but which one is right? Should they be toed-in, or straight up and down (Vertical)? I'm taking it to the shop tomorrow, but I would like to hear from you guy's first, before the mech's at the Yamaha shop have a chance to tell me god knows what [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img] Thanks in advance for the info guy's.

Old 09-04-2002, 01:23 AM
Pro Rider

Toe is the diffrence between the front & back of the tires I run mine at 1/8" toe in.

The top leaning in is camber & is not adjustable.
Make sure you're on a perfectly flat surface & measure again. If the 2 sides are diffrent look for bent parts.

Old 09-04-2002, 01:51 AM
Pro Rider