Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

Sand Drag racing help

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2002, 12:05 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Everytime I go to the dunes and drag race I lose races because the front wheels wont stay on the ground to get a good launch why?
I have paddle tires and I lean forward on my handle bar putting all my weight on the ft wheels at launch and it will either wheelie's or throw me off the back. I start in first gear because it just falls on it face it second gear! I dont want a extended swingarm because I like to jump and trail ride! there so much i want to do to my quad like porting and coolhead but if the front wheels wont stay now, it will only make thing worse with more mods wait do i do?
Thanks

Old 09-24-2002, 12:12 AM
Trailblazer

Im not an expert but did you try to use struts instead of shocks for the front? or do you sand guys "strap" the front end like you can to a sport bikes front forks when they drag? just suggestions Im sure others wil;; have better ideas

Old 09-24-2002, 12:55 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
THAT!!!!!Sounds down right sexy!

Unless your one big dude you should be able to do second gear starts.it sounds like you've got the right idea but your working the throttle on take off. You can't do this. You rpm it up and let it go you start on the tank and work your way back on the seat as you need traction. I have seen guy's on stock banshees do some real damage just from being good riders.good luck and also as mentioned struts are a good racers aid.and also good suspension helps too!![img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 09-24-2002, 12:27 PM
Pro Rider

I use a lowering block in the rear. I lower mine just one inch in the back and it makes a pretty big difference. It still handles good, but it will make your rear shock seem weak. So, when I want to go ride hard, I raise it back up and everything is fine. 5 minutes to change.

Daren

Old 09-24-2002, 11:16 PM
Trailblazer