Honda Discussions about Honda ATVs.

Rancher water riding tips

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2002, 10:15 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,
I'm new to 4 wheeling and want to keep my new Honda rancher 4x4 es in good condition. When crossing water deeper then the handle bars how should I prep before the ride and take care of my quad if it sallows water or stops working after the water adventure. I've also heard of building a snorkel for atvs. Does anyone know a website for a how to on that? Is it recommended?

Thanks
Eric

Old 07-27-2002, 10:35 PM
Pro Rider

you want to make sure water can not get into the carb or lights, starter, and anything electrical. After i take mine that deep i always change the oil and every once in a while i do all the fluids. When i am in water that deep i usally do water wheelies because i am not running with a snorcal, if you are talented enough to do this and keep it there you do not need a snorkal (as long as its handle bar hight or less, you could only get away with only about 6-8 inches more,to be on the safe side keep it at handle bar hight). In the event that you do stall it and the engin dus take in water tip it on its back end for about 2 or 3 hours, change the oil (you probably will have to change the oil more then once), you should also do the diff fluid, if it stalled and the water was over the gas take you should probly drain it so that the next time u ride you dont wind up in the middle of no where with watered down gas, i like to put a bottle of dry gas in after i go that deep too, and finaly just change the spark plug. have fun[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 07-28-2002, 04:47 PM
Pro Rider