Polaris Discussions about Polaris ATVs.

polaris sportsman 500 ho

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2015, 09:12 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default polaris sportsman 500 ho

Hi, I'm new at this so here go I inherased a 2002 polaris sportsman 500 ho. Not much luck in starting bike I had it running for roughly 30 seconds and that's it. Clean carb,have sparks,by pass throttle switch,put hand on carb when turning over gas comes out of carb but still don't fire. Need help
Tks

Old 06-18-2015, 02:08 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts

Why did you defeat the etc switch in the throttle housing? If it's getting spark and fuel,do a compression check along with checking valve clearance. .006 intake and exhaust,compression should range between 55-90 psi on average because of the decompression lever on the cam.A service manual for 5 bucks can show you things to check for.2002 Polaris Sportsman 500 Service Manual PDF Download

Old 06-18-2015, 08:38 PM
Weekend Warrior

Originally Posted by old polaris tech
Why did you defeat the etc switch in the throttle housing? If it's getting spark and fuel,do a compression check along with checking valve clearance. .006 intake and exhaust,compression should range between 55-90 psi on average because of the decompression lever on the cam.A service manual for 5 bucks can show you things to check for.2002 Polaris Sportsman 500 Service Manual PDF Download
Hi, it was mention for me to try bypassing etc switch, I will verify compression, as for the service manual is it just base on the 2002 model,and is it important to mention the Ho also when I purchase the manual.tks

Old 06-19-2015, 04:27 AM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!

All Sportsman 500s were HO models from 2001 on up.The main difference between the HO and non HO models was a longer duration cam and 40mm BT40 Mikuni carb on the HO.The manual should be fine.

Old 06-19-2015, 09:34 PM
Weekend Warrior