Suzuki Discussions about Suzuki ATVs.

quadrunner 160 carburetor adjusting...

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2011, 04:47 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default quadrunner 160 carburetor adjusting...

my nephew just decided to try & get his dad's old quadrunner 160 running after it's been sitting in a barn for i would say at least 5 years. after a new battery it actually cranked right up but has very little power. if you let off the gas it dies. if you press the gas more than a little it dies. drained the gas & put fresh in it. took the bowl & float off & cleaned them out. there was a good bit of trash in the bowl. now after putting it back on the thing won't crank at all. it seems like it's a fuel problem but i'm no mechanic & don't really know where to go from here. there are 2 screws on the carb with flat head slots. one is knurled & i'm guessing it's the idle adjustment but the other brass colored one i don't know. if some one could point me to some kind of how to i'd appreciate it.

Old 09-04-2011, 01:48 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yep knurled is idle. Other on controls idle and offisle fuel amount. Clockwise is less fuel. Sounds like it needs a thorough cleaning.

Old 09-04-2011, 05:16 PM
Pro Rider
Your friend needs to stop smoking whatever it is that is rotting his brain!

After 5 years, the inside of that carb is probably pretty green and gunky, gonna need a complete tear down, I suggest finding a shop with an ultrasonic cleaning tank, that will get all the caked on crud in all the passages broke loose. More than likely, the pilot jet is plugged up, thats why it dies when you let off the gas. I let my 300ex sit in storage for 2 years, and that carb was a mess, took a lot of port blasting and scrubbing to clean it up, but it runs like a charm now, sold it to a co worker,and his son loves it to death. Time for you to crack open that carb and assess the damage.....good luck.

Old 09-05-2011, 01:23 AM
Weekend Warrior