Trailers, Toy Haulers, Motorhomes. Discuss Trailering, Toy Haulers, Campers and Motorhomes.

Toyhauler weight and storage

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 04:10 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyhauler weight and storage

I purchased an 04 Gearbox last year and am still learning about it. Crawling underneath I've spotted around 700lbs of steel bars welded between the rear frame rails. The info on these trailers is somewhat limited but it seems the tongue weights on a majority of Toyhaulers were excessive and I'm sure this weight was added to compensate. My plan is to remove the bars and try carrying something actually useful such as a welder, air compressor and underside tanks, possibly add a hitch and carry my dualsport on the rear of the trailer. It's killing me knowing I'm hauling 700lbs of completely useless weight. Other thoughts are moving the batteries to the back, possibly under the floor.
I've seen a new toyhauler that has a hatch in the rear floor area for storage, I carry a couple hundred pounds of tools and parts that would fit in that location fine.
Lack of storage is a big pain for me in this Trailer and it's a 30 footer. When is someone going to realize we don't need 9' of head room and make a basement model Toyhauler. I'd love to have my chairs, spare gas cans, helmets, tools, firewood etc all under the floor and easy to get to.
Anyway, I just wanted to share these thoughts to see if anyone had done anything similar. I've searched for awhile and can find very little info on people doing any mods to their trailers.

Old 06-23-2011, 06:41 AM
Pro Rider