Yamaha Discussions about Yamaha ATVs.

battery not charging 2001 warrior

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2008, 06:00 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery not charging 2001 warrior

I have a 2001 yamaha warrior 350. the battery seems to not be getting a charge. If I disconnect the battery jump from car battery then disconnect jumper cables the battery wires will show a reading of about 2-3 volts when tested. I'm new to atvs. what parts are involved in charging a battery. how would I test it too.

Old 09-13-2008, 07:55 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

With the battery connected, start the quad. Take the leads of a voltmeter and touch the quad battery cables before they reach the battery. Have a friend rev the quad, the voltage should rise to 13-15 volts on the meter.

If they don't, test the rectifier and stator. Replace as needed. You can get a new stator at www.rickystator.com Before springing for the whole stator, I'd replace the pickup coil.

If voltage is fine, replace the battery. Charge the battery fully before use using a 2amp trickle charger, NOT a car charger. Then maintain the battery with a battery tender. A good brand is Battery Tender.

Old 09-13-2008, 08:09 PM
Weekend Warrior

how do I test the rectifier and the stator. would a car battery charger be fine if it has a trickle charge mode. is there a difference?

Old 09-14-2008, 02:49 AM
Pro Rider

Call motorcycle shops and see if they can test the rectifier and stator or use your dealer. I say that, but I don't hold much hope that they can or will. The reason being labor cost. It's cheaper for them and you to just replace the suspect parts with new ones. Shops make money on job turnaround. Every day it's how many can we fix today and get paid for. The time it takes to do yours could be spent doing three others. That's why it takes so long to get major repairs done.