Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

Do I have open differentials?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2004, 07:15 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I have open differentials?

I haven't had time to get this new Cat out in the woods yet. Can someone explain to me how the differentials on this machine work? I understand how they work on a truck, but I'm not sure about the ATV world. Someone said my rear end is always locked and will spin both tires always, but the front end is open and will only spin one tire if there's resistance. Can anyone verify this for me? I'm still learning. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-blush.gif[/img]

Old 03-11-2004, 07:18 PM
Pro Rider

its basically an open diff. its not a limited slip,its junk to tell you the truth. I did a post a while back last year, explaining the problem with the diff. I know it inside and out. trust me I love my cat and would not dare talk bad about it,BUT the diff is the worst on any bike out there. try and doo a search in this forum for Arctic cat front diff. or cat front diff, or even by my name CATKRAZY. you will read how it works

good luck

Old 03-11-2004, 08:51 PM
Trailblazer

I did the search but didn't find much. So the Arctic Cat front diff. is not very reliable? Are their aftermarket limited slip front diffs out there for these? If I ever have trouble with mine I'll just replace it with aftermarket if there are any available. What exactly seems to be the common issues with the front diffs. on these?

Old 03-11-2004, 09:46 PM
Pro Rider

That is correct - rear is always locked, front on the cats is not, it's a 3 wheel drive, with power going to the wheel with the least resistance. If you're trail riding in the woods, you'll probably never notice the difference between 3 wheel drive, limited slip or selectable lock.