Arctic Cat Discussions about Arctic Cat ATVs.

Moose Hunt Pics Now Work!

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2000, 12:12 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Sorry Guys I did have it under private. Forgive me this is my first time using this. They are under for everyone now hope you enjoy them.
http://photos.yahoo.com/alaskanmoose2000

Old 10-24-2000, 01:19 PM
Pro Rider

Irichard,

Looks like you had a great hunt! I love the idea of hauling an entire hunting camp into the mountains on ATVs (even a trailerable toilet!!). That hunt reminds me of the stories my Dad tells of hauling in and setting up Elk camp way up in the rockies out of Bowden, Alberta (near Calgary). Only difference is they used horses instead of ATVs. Personally, I prefer ATVs, horses are too moody & require too many provisions. All ATVs usually need is a little gas. Anyways, thanks for sharing the pics, Enjoy the Moose steaks.

Lance

Old 10-24-2000, 03:17 PM
Pro Rider

Irichard:
Hey, now were talking, great pics man! Looks like you guys did pretty well up there. That trailerable toilet is great! Man, that's some beautiful country up there, you guys are lucky to have it. Man, I would love to ride up in that area, looks just awesome. So what is your choice of rifle/caliber for those big boys? Also, what type of range are you shooting at? Those are some pretty large animals, probably pretty tough as well, I would imagine they require something with some serious knock down power.

Anyway, great pics, glad to see them!

Mike

Old 10-24-2000, 03:34 PM
Pro Rider

I shoot a 338 Winchester mag., that seems to be a pretty popular rifle up here. Both of those Bulls where shot at about 90 yards. I have seen a lot longer shots having to be made though. Both Bulls where the same body size and we weighed one of them quartered 800lbs of meat. Really good eating also, makes the best chiily I have ever eaten.