ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

Plastic welding

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2006, 06:36 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plastic welding

Any of you guys have experience or know about plastic welding? Does it hold up/look crappy? I'm considiring buying one of the kits I've bee looking at online. Thanks.

Old 03-12-2006, 03:08 PM
Pro Rider
Default Plastic welding

i have no real experience with it but i have heard it looks like crap and doesnt hold well.
what i would do is stitch it up with zip ties, you just drill little holes on both sides of the crack and stitch it up. do a search you will find more info

Old 03-13-2006, 01:49 AM
Pro Rider
Default Plastic welding

I have been an Ebay looking fool for some 200x plastic, i was gonna weld it then said why get some newer plastic to last another 20 years.

Old 03-13-2006, 01:57 AM
Pro Rider
Default Plastic welding

Automotive bodyshops plastic weld the newer car bumpers quite often. Looks like a new bumper.

Bottom line, the end product relies on the quality of the equipment and the experience of the operator.

Old 03-13-2006, 02:09 AM
Pro Rider
Default Plastic welding

Originally posted by: ERBEDS650
I have been an Ebay looking fool for some 200x plastic, i was gonna weld it then said why get some newer plastic to last another 20 years.
There are some NOS plastic on there for 750 LOL. If your lookin for 86-87 plastic.

86-87 200x Plastic

Old 03-13-2006, 02:18 AM
Pro Rider
Default Plastic welding

Nope 85 plastic used is 50 to 125 plus shipping Mier is 125 free shipping.

Old 03-13-2006, 04:57 PM
Trailblazer
Default Plastic welding

I read a report on this stuff called Plastex- I think it may have been on this site- no, it doesn't look so great, but I'm looking more to strengthen my plastics. Also, if Maier made a rear for my trike that had space for a trunk, I'd get one. By the way, how do the Maier front fenders look compared to O.E.M.?

Old 03-13-2006, 05:59 PM
Trailblazer