ATC 3-Wheelers Discussions on ATC 3-Wheelers.

Idle Issues.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2007, 12:31 PM
Trailblazer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle Issues.

Hi all, Newbie here. This is a great forum and I`m happy I found it, it`s cool to see many others still interested in 3 wheelers.
I have a 1985 Honda 250ES big red, a 1983 185S, a 1984 200S that`s in almost mint shape.
The idle issues I`m having concern the big red and the 185.
The big red will idle, but only for a short time, while it`s idling, it goes up, way up, by ear to at least 1800 RPM or better, then it`ll drop down and idle normal then it gets lower until it shuts off. I installed a carb kit in it, as when I bought it, it had been sitting for a while, the petcock on the fuel tank isn`t in the best of shape, but it doesn`t seem to flood. It has a cobra exhaust and it has great power. I`ve checked for vacuum leaks using carb cleaner and found none. The 185 I bought at a flea market, it`s worn out and I`m soon to be rebuilding it, the carb on it runs pig rich at idle, I backed off on the idle mixture and reset it and it seemed to help at first, then it went back to shutting off with black smoke emitting from the exhaust, the pet **** on this one as well is not in good shape and it too only turns the fuel on when it`s set on reserve. Lastly, can I install a 200X piston in my 200s? I want to raise the compression ratio to the 9.5:1 area the X came with instead of the 7.9:1 ratio the S came with. Also can I bore the 185 out enough to accept a 200X piston? Much thanks to any and all that respond.

Old 02-24-2007, 01:08 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Default Idle Issues.

"Lastly, can I install a 200X piston in my 200s? I want to raise the compression ratio to the 9.5:1 area the X came with instead of the 7.9:1 ratio the S came with. Also can I bore the 185 out enough to accept a 200X piston? Much thanks to any and all that respond. "

yes, yes, and yes.