ATV Racing Discussions on ATV racing.

Cornering Part 2 - The Anatomy of a Turn

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2001, 01:14 AM
Range Rover
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I started the other post on the philosophy of a line to invite everyone to think about the mental approach to cornering. There are a few people who asked for tips on the physical basics of cornering. I will try to list some tips and would like to see some hints from anyone else who would like to respond.

I should put a disclaimer here - I am not an instructor or even a pro level rider and make no claim to being qualified to offer these tips. But I have been racing an ATV for over 8 years and I am a motocross fanatic that reads everything I can get my hands on about quad and bike racing.

To start, a corner could be broken down into four components for discussion purposes. In reality the turn needs to be made in one fluid movement, but the four parts of a turn are:
1) Choosing the line BEFORE actually reaching the corner.
2) Braking to slow down enough to negotiate the turn.
3) Actually making the turn.
4) Getting back on the gas to accelerate out of the corner.

Choosing the line was discussed on my post titled "the philosophy of a line". All I will say here is to plan your turn prior to actually making the corner. Plan ahead, look ahead, don't follow, and don't assume the line everyone is using is the best one. Anyone can go fast on the straight aways - it's the corner speed that helps separate the fast riders from the slow riders.

Braking - One key to going through a corner fast is to brake as late as possible. Following are some tips:
1) Use brake markers as a key for when to apply the brakes. Pick out a hay bale, sprinkler, or rock in each corner and use it as a marker.
2) When using your brakes use them hard, don't pussyfoot around.
3) Do the majority of your braking on the approach to the corner (while the quad is still going straight).