Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Need help....what to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2006, 02:45 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help....what to buy?

Ok so my parents are looking to buy an ATV possibly two. They live in Montana on a huge ranch, kind of like a farm. There is a lot of mud during certain parts of the year and snow during winter, but not too much. For the most part though just fields and more fields. They are looking for something that can get them around their property with no problem and help with every day chores. I have no clue what to get as I have no ATV or quad experience, and neither do they. That is why I have come to these forums [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-tongue.gif[/img]. Anyways Ive asked around and a couple of my friends have recommended polaris as a good brand to buy. Do all ATVS/quads come with 4wd or whats the deal with that? I know they need it. ANY HELP appreciated.
They also want to use these ATVs to go on mountain trails to just explore around local areas. Again they arent looking to spend a fortune, so is used the way to go? Or should they just go brand new. I in my own greed want them to get something fast, just to have fun on when I come up here to Montana.

Thanks for all the help

Old 07-22-2006, 03:41 AM
Extreme Pro Rider
GOT BOOST!

Do all ATVS/quads come with 4wd or whats the deal with that?
No, some/most utility quads come with 4X. All sport quads are 2X.
Again they arent looking to spend a fortune, so is used the way to go?
Not in my opinion. If they are good with mechanical things used is not bad, but your usually buying someone elses problem.
I in my own greed want them to get something fast, just to have fun on when I come up here to Montana.
Fast and cheap don't go hand in hand. If you want fast your going to have to lay down the cash...........if you want cheap your not going to be fast.