Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

2007 Arctic Cat 650 or Grizzly 660 - what are your thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2006, 10:20 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Arctice Cat 650 or Yamaha 650?

Hello all,

I've been kicking around for a few months. Though I do not normally post I do enjoy reading the posts.

I am looking at a purchasing a new machine in the next month or so and I think I have narrowed it down to what I would consider two of the more reliable, well equipped and feature rich bikes available. But I am still a little torn. Of course they each have their own merits. I have read many positive posts from owners of both, but like anything, many invididuals are biased of their ownership. I have not come across many posts stating many negatives with these machines. These two machines seem to offer the best overall package for my riding style and requirements, though all brands are formidable in their own ways.

My question is, are there any advantages or disadvantages between these two rigs that would tilt the scales in favour of one over the other? I guess the biggest problem I have is the fact that I do not necessarily have access to drive both for seat of the pants comparison purposes. I have ridden recent Honda's and Polarsis in the past but never a newer Yamaha or Arctic Cat.

Couple of my questions are: What machine (aside from just sitting on them) tailor better to a rider of 6'2 and 195lbs? What machine gets the better fuel economy if both were ridden identically (im guessing pretty even)? Which machine offers the easier accessibilty for maintence and repair work? Which machine handles better? Which machine provides the nicest and most comfortable ride/suspension?

And most importantly, why would you choose one over the other.