Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Hello (New Member needing some advice )

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008 | 07:17 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Hello (New Member needing some advice )

Hello guys im new in this forum and as you can probably tell, i am from the UK. Now i notice most of you are from USA, but im sure you knowledgeable enough to help me.
Im a newbie to the whole ATV/Quad biking thing and want some advice in buying a quad bike.
Im 20, and dont want to spend that much. I want a sport quad for fun
Ive read your forums and came to the conclusion that chinese atvs are a no? However i am a little interested in the Bashan 200cc on road ( just to mainly use offroad cause i own a car) but as its chinese, im a little sketchy about it. buying a Yamaha would be a little steep too.

In short - what would you guys recomend for me to purchase for a neewbie who wants some fun offroad. Not cheap crap, but not to dear.

Thanks very much guys

Old 02-27-2008 | 08:57 PM
Pro Rider
Sound advice there. "Hey, watch this........"

<div class="FTQUOTE"><begin quote>Originally posted by: UKOffroader

as you can probably tell, i am from the UK.

</end quote></div>

The tipoff for me was your typing accent and watching you drive your quad on the wrong side of the road. [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

I've always felt that you are better off getting a used name brand than one of the cheaper off-brands, but there are exceptions. Especially if you are new to the sport. It's very hard to figure out exactly what you want in a quad as there are not many chances to test ride for a real feel. If you can find a used quad in good condition you can get in some ride time yet if you figure out that it's not the right quad for you it can be resold at or near what you paid for it. Any new quad is going to depreciate a lot as soon as you roll it out the dealer doorway.