Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Work and Play?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008 | 12:15 PM
|
Weekend Warrior
Default Work and Play?

So this is my first post and I'm not sure what I want exists, but here goes:

I need to buy a 4x4 ATV to haul wood and help with some yard work around the house (I live at 7000 elevation so I'm assuming anything smaller than a 500 won't have the high altitude power I need). Then use the same quad to tear up the trails. I've got a lot of experience with quads and used to race a Fourtrax 250R in the 90s, then got into dirtbiking and ride KTMs (plus a lot of time on a Big Bear 4x4 and my parents' Grizzlys).

That said - the 4x4 quads I've tried are way too utility oriented (and aren't that fun on the trails due to lack of suspension, weight, and top speed). I would love something that I can both haul wood with, then RIP trails... with 8 inches of suspension and hit some jumps/drops. Does this exist? I'm not looking for a banshee.. but I'd like something a bit more versatile than a Big Bear for trail riding.

Any suggestions and/or stories on what has worked well for you would help.

Another question is -- any good recommendations on trailers for hauling wood? My hill isn't gnarly/steep, but I don't have much of a run on it, so I'm assuming I'm looking for a lighter trailer and will end up doing smaller loads. Can an ATV even handle this? We used to haul 500+ lb trailers w/ our Big Bear but we never had to start on a hill.

Thanks!

Old 05-27-2008 | 12:39 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Mopar Man!
Default Work and Play?

Try a Polaris 700 efi x2 it might be a little heaver than what you are looking for but a great all around quad non the less. Look at it here. Good luck!

Old 05-27-2008 | 03:49 PM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Default Work and Play?