Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

I don't know what to buy...

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2008, 11:08 PM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I don't know what to buy...

I am new to four-wheeling, and I have no clue what to buy...... My price range is around $3000... Maybe a little more... I am going to buy used... What would be a good 4x4 ATV that would most likely be in my price range? I am looking at Honda Foremans... It would be used for mudding and trail riding, so it needs to have racks... I also want a speedometer...

Heres the link to the one that I am looking at...
http://pensacola.craigslist.org/mcy/856042612.html

Is $2400 a good price?

Old 09-28-2008, 11:10 PM
Weekend Warrior

Also, is 1000 miles alot on an ATV???? And how fast would it go?? How good is the 1997 Foreman at mudding??

Old 09-29-2008, 12:27 AM
Red Rider
Honda, accept nothing less!
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The old 400's have a pretty solid reputation, but it is pretty much a pure WORK quad (limited suspension), and not the greatest trail machine.

Honda's now have an excellent torque sensing front differentail, that sends the power to the wheel with traction. Thing is, the older Formans have a pretty terrible old school "open differential", that sends the power to the wheel without traction....not good!

1000 miles is abdolutely nothing!!! We often ride over 100miles each weekend. Got to wonder if that is an honest mileage for a machine that old.....

I think that is to much money for one that is that old!!!!

Old 09-29-2008, 12:30 AM
Pro Rider

the foreman is a stout quad, good for any riding you will do...

Old 09-29-2008, 12:33 AM
Red Rider

Pass this one up!!!

Got to wonder why a machine with only 1000 mi on it needed a new piston, and all those new parts, etc. There are lots of these with 20,000+ mi on them that have never needed a rebuild. Something just isn't right here!!!

Old 09-29-2008, 12:35 AM