Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

Help with sand vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2013, 11:38 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with sand vehicle

I am a biologist and need to drive on some pretty soft beaches for work. I need a vehicle that can carry 2 people, at least 100 pounds of gear, and be fairly easy to handle without getting stuck in soft sand. I have zero experience with beach driving and off-road vehicles and therefore have no idea what to look for in a vehicle for this type of work. I don't need to go fast, just get a few miles down the beach and back safely. Any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Old 05-15-2013, 12:20 PM
Super Moderator
Well, golly JimBob!
Received 54 Likes on 54 Posts

Part of it will depend on local laws where you want to go. Some vehicles are allowed on some beaches. Some beaches don't allow any vehicles except for emergency purposes. You'd have to let us know what would be allowed.

In general, a 2 person ATV or quad would meet your needs. Soft sand tends to take a lot of power so I'd recommend a minimum of 500 ccs. 3 companies make dedicated two rider quads. Arctic Cat, Can-Am, and Polaris. I don't know much about Arctic Cats. Can-Am makes the Outlander Max in 400, 500, 650, 800, and 1000 cc machines. Polaris has 2 rider machines with 500, 550, and 850 cc engines.

There are also machines where the rider and passenger sit next to each other. These are generally called UTVs or utility vehicles. There are sporty ones and others that are more of a small pickup.

Please find out what machines are allowed on the beaches you're anticipating being on and if there will be hills, and dunes. We can go from there to try to narrow things down. In addition, you should take a safety course that will familiarize you with off road vehicles. It's not a good idea to hop on one if you aren't, at least, familiar with how they work.

Old 05-15-2013, 12:20 PM