Buying an ATV Questions and suggestions about what to buy, financing, insurance, etc.

New guy - want an ATV + snow plow

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2003, 10:14 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy - want an ATV + snow plow

Hi guys

I'm new to the world of ATVs but I've always loved cars and working on engines.
Recently the blizzard in NJ did a number on my back. I looked at snow blower prices but for a meager 11 hp it would cost me almost $2000 for a decent blower. That's $2000 invested in some equipment that'll gather dust the rest of the year.

I thought, maybe if I got an ATV and mounted a snow plow on it, it could shovel out the entire street and then some, but in the spring and summer, I could remove the plow and go off-roading.

Some questions:

which models should I consider for reliability and performance?
where should I go for plow install kits?
is this a wise idea?
I'm in NJ, anyone know if I need a license or permit to operate an ATV?
How much do you think this would cost?

Thanks in advance!

BTW I don't have a strong footing on all the terminology and technology employed in the ATVs, but I learn very very quickly so bear with me just for a bit!

Old 02-24-2003, 12:53 AM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New guy - want an ATV + snow plow

The snow plow attachment will be your cheapest cost out of your pocket, figure on at least $300 for a moose plow kit, if you order it yourself. The Moose plow is a tough unit.

Next is the means to lift the snow plow up & down. You can use either a manual lift, electric lift or a winch. Cost ranges anywhere from $75 to $400 plus.
You can plow with a two-wheel drive atv but you will have to chain-up the rear tires to do so. A 4x4 atv will not need chains, unless you are out on "ice".

Next is how much money are you willing to pay for your 4wheeler.