CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

For the jetting pros, what color is YOUR plug..

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2003, 11:02 PM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default For the jetting pros, what color is YOUR plug..

I just want to know what color your spark plugs are. I know that light tan is good, but I want to know what YOUR plugs look like because I heard the ds likes to be a tad lean... So..... What color is IDEAL for a ds motor?? Thanks.

Josh

Old 07-03-2003, 11:36 PM
Pro Rider

Very light brown - almost barely tan - But I am NOT a jetting pro.

Old 07-04-2003, 12:28 AM
Pro Rider

I had an interesting experiance a few weeks back when I took my bike in for a dyno tunning. I was running 165 mains and the bike felt good , my plugs were light tan colored , I should add that I run the 39mm FCR's and I'm at 4500 ft. When I picked the bike up they had run it about 6 times on their dyno and ended up with an 8-10% increase across the entire band which pleased me. Then I asked what size mains I ended up with - I was slightly set back when they told me I had 142.5's in. They were using an exhaust gas analyzer and told my the ratios were spot on. The plugs were whitish grey- I told the tech that I thought a tannish color was what they were supposed to be, he told me that tan is for two strokes but that four strokes like whitish grey. Take it for what it's worth but I like the way it runs[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-happy.gif[/img]

Old 07-04-2003, 12:40 AM
Pro Rider

That's cool!! I need to go leaner then!! I suppose you don't have any black residue on the end cap of the exhaust do you? Mine does a little so I have some work to do LOL!!

Old 07-04-2003, 01:29 PM
Pro Rider

TTT..... C'mon more people please!!

Old 07-04-2003, 05:20 PM
Range Rover

Plug reading is just not that simple. Todays fuels have so many additives you not longer get white/tan/black plugs.