CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Starter O-ring Sadness

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2003, 01:19 AM
Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter O-ring Sadness

I could not find a replacement o-ring that seals the starter from an oil leak. Anybody use high heat silicone to aid in the seal? The parts manual does not have a replacement from Bombardier. Go Figure ... [img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-confused.gif[/img]

Old 10-08-2003, 01:39 AM
Pro Rider
It's official, I've been duning for over 30 years.

Ironrod, If you haven't try NAPA, they've come through on all kinds of oddball stuff for me. Ultracopper is the highest temp silicone that I know of. I used to use that on a crapy set of headers and it held up.

Old 10-08-2003, 03:44 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

PM me your e-mail. Your right. . . Bomb is no help. You have to go to BMW for the parts detail on the starter. I have the BMW starter parts page in pdf. I ended up buying a new O-ring and a new front aluminum piece. I am thinking of having my old one double o-ringed to see if the second o-ring will hold back the oil.

I am in the process of building a second engine (this will be a 760. The cases are used and I fear there has been an oil leak there before so, I am going to see what options our builder down here can offer before he assembles the cases (maybe sleeve it?) I plan on using the new aluminum front section of the starter and the new o-ring on the 760.

I feel your pain!

Old 10-08-2003, 10:04 AM
Elite Pro Rider

i also feel that pain every time i race banshees if they lose they come up and say your leaking oil. that is my next thing is the gaskets sealer that should fix the problem. i have a extra o-ring, kit if you want to try about 40 different sizes though[img]i/expressions/face-icon-small-smile.gif[/img]

Old 10-08-2003, 11:38 AM
Extreme Pro Rider

i found an O-ring at the local hardware store.

Old 10-08-2003, 11:51 AM
Pro Rider