CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

New Outlander 650

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2006, 11:49 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Outlander 650

Hello just purchased an Outlander Max 650. In riding yesterday for the first time I noticed two issues. First is when starting slowly or maneuvering around slowly the transmission is grabby. Constantly engaging and disengaging abruptly, enough so to spin the tires in sand, I am somewhat new to belt transmissions but I have never experienced this before. Is it normal?

Second when shutting off the machine then almost immediately restarting it won’t start, the engine will turn over but not fire. You must remove key wait a few seconds then try again. What is the issue here?

Old 10-01-2006, 12:58 PM
Pro Rider

Well the 650 is quite powerful so that could be causing the tire spinning. I'm not exactly sure what it is you are experiencing or at least I haven't had a smiliar feel, not sure if there is much difference in the gearing or anyting for the MAX models.

The second issue could be related to the DSS, the key is encoded so it can't be started without that exact key, could simply be a feature built into the system. I notice when I turn mine off the lights on the dash stay on. I'll go try mine and see if it does the same thing when tr ying to restart. By shutting off do you mean the kill switch or the key? Does it do it both ways?

Old 10-01-2006, 01:17 PM
Weekend Warrior

By shutting off I mean the key. Have not used the kill switch at all yet.

It is not the power causing the tires to spin. Feels like the belt is grabbing and releasing grabbing and releasing. I will play with it more again today but it causes the machine to surge or jerk ahead when trying slow speed maneuvers. If you have not experienced it then most likely it is an issue with mine.

Old 10-01-2006, 01:23 PM
Pro Rider