CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

DS50 no start - new to ATVs

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2017, 11:52 AM
Weekend Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DS50 no start - new to ATVs

Hello all,
I am trying to get a 2004 Bombardier DS50 running for my grandson's birthday, and am having a terrible time... I'm fairly new to 2-strokes, have NEVER dealt w/oil injection, and am baffled. The quad is at least third-hand, not in great shape, but I had it almost running a few weekends ago and now not a peep. New plug, ignition coil, fuel lines, carb w/choke and starter. The weekend I swapped the carb I had it the closest to running, but it was leaking fuel so I shut off the fuel and quit for the weekend. Turns out the float valve got stuck, and that's hopefully remedied. Turns over slowly, and when I pull the plug and ground it it turns over faster and has nice blue spark, but will not start...

I'm at my wit's end w/this machine, and cannot find any references to troubleshooting things like CDI measurements, so I feel like I'm shooting in the dark.

Can some of you old hats at this give me some advice so I don't keep spinning my wheels?

Old 05-27-2017, 04:04 PM
Polaris ATV Expert
Retired and loving it!
Received 33 Likes on 33 Posts