CAN-AM (BRP) Discussions about CAN-AM ATVs.

Thinking about buying a used DS, got some ??'s

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2002, 01:02 PM
Pro Rider
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

After some guy wrecked into my Polaris 400 Sport last Saturday and bent the frame I have begun parting it out and am considering buying a DS 650. I went and looked at a Baja and Cannibal to get some ideas of how big they are and how they look in person. The Bomb looked sweet and I would definitely pick it over the dale. Although the Dale is probably quicker in the woods and a flat out drag race, it just looks cheap to me. It is more purpose built(racing) than the Bomb. The Bomb felt great sitting on it and I have heard it is a very plush ride. Does the rotax engine have a counterbalancer? Basically, I want to know if it is a smooth engine. Does it respond well to head porting? I have some head porting experience but I haven't seen a rotax head so I dont know if there is much casting flash or a bad short side radius. Is it hard to handle for a 5'4 #150 guy? How long does it take to rejet? How does the braking compare to other sport quads? Here are the pros and cons from what Ive heard can you guys elaborate more on this:

Pros;
great suspension, plush and lots of travel
plnety of power (big plus in my book!)
wide and stable
Should kick the dog poop out of my friends stock 400ex
A used one is right in my price range

Cons;
No reverse
big and heavy
may not fit on my current trailer.

Old 05-10-2002, 02:07 PM
Extreme Pro Rider
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Its all a matter of personal preference, I'm not gonna slam any of the other bikes, but I will tell you about the DS.
All of your pros you listed are correct.